Department of Justice

2013 Community Safety Award Recipients

2013 Community Safety Award recipients

Outstanding Program: Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)

The MADD board of directors is recognized for working to combat impaired driving. The five directors are: Jan Trim, Alvin Pederson, Daniela Martinson, Amanda Price and Andrew West.

Outstanding Volunteer: Phyllis Smith

Phyllis Smith is recognized for her volunteer service with the Haines Junction Community Justice Committee. Ms. Smith has been active in community remediation and the restorative justice process since 2004.

Outstanding Project: Betty’s Haven

The board of directors of Kaushee’s Place/Yukon Women’s Transition Home and Betty’s Haven are recognized for their dedication in building a safe and secure second-stage housing apartment building, Betty’s Haven which opened in September 2013. The board of directors are: Kim Hawkins, Jean-Paul Pinard, Noreen McGowan, Kathleen Zimmer, and Stacey Burnard.

Youth Mentorship: Tanya Silverfox

Tanya Silverfox is recognized for her work as the Youth Employment Centre Coordinator at the Skookum Jim Friendship Centre for more than eight years. Ms. Silverfox demonstrates dedication in helping her clients improve their situations, and possesses a strong ability to build a rapport of trust with her high-risk clients.

Bridge Builder: Constable Paul Miller

Paul Miller is recognized for his work building trust between the RCMP and the community of Carmacks. His efforts have renewed the community’s faith in the policing system.

Outstanding Contribution to Community Safety: Constable Andrew Greer

Constable Greer is recognized for his involvement in the successful search and rescue of a Tagish Elder in the Fall of 2012.

Outstanding Community Policing: Constable Tim Lynch, Constable Adam Lightfoot and Constable Billy Gossen

Constable Tim Lynch, Constable Adam Lightfoot and Constable Billy Gossen are recognized as positive role models for their engagement with youth in sports/recreation activities. The constables helped organize the Pelly River Hockey Challenge in Faro. There were no fees for the event which allowed players from all economic backgrounds to take part.

Youth Volunteer Award: Warrant Officer Sara Bridal is recognized for her excellence as a role model in the work she does ensuring the safety and training of younger cadets.