Department of Justice

Selection Criteria for the Community Safety Awards

Who is eligible to be nominated?

  • Citizens
  • RCMP members
  • First responders
  • Youth
  • Community groups or programs

What are the Awards selection criteria?
The recipients of the awards demonstrate a high level of commitment to community safety and make a significant difference to the lives of Yukoners. Each nominee will be measured on their:

  • Commitment
  • Contribution
  • Ability to work together with others
  • Empowerment
  • Innovation, inclusiveness and flexibility

What are the Award categories?

  • Lifetime Contribution to Community Safety - Lifetime contribution and commitment by a practitioner or volunteer to community safety.
  • Outstanding Community Policing - An RCMP member that has gone above and beyond their duty to ensure community safety.
  • Mentorship - A citizen or RCMP member who has acted as a mentor for youth within the community and has made a significant impact on the life of one or more young people.
  • Bridge Builder - Contribution by a practitioner, volunteer/community member or RCMP member, who works to break down barriers, builds relationships and engages both communities and community safety organizations.
  • Outstanding Project or Program - Project, program or initiative that has made significant contributions to preventing and reducing crime and enhancing community safety.
  • Volunteer Award - Honours an individual’s contribution as a volunteer in helping to improve community safety.
  • Youth Award - Recognizes someone under the age of 18 who has contributed to community safety.

How do I nominate someone?

To nominate someone please submit a completed nomination form to:

Community Safety Awards
Director of Public Safety
Department of Justice J-10
PO Box 2703
Whitehorse, Y1A 2C6

Or email to: 
How are the award recipients chosen?
A selection committee measures each nominee against the selection criteria. The selection committee is made up of:

  • Representatives of the Yukon Police Council
  • A representative of the Department of Justice
  • A representative of the RCMP M Division